Puzzles

Solving puzzles is a delight.

Recently I got a book on puzzles. The book is actually a collection of Scientific American’s mathematical games column. Some very interesting puzzles there are. The book is ‘My Best Mathematical and Logic Puzzles’ by Martin Gardner. It’s a new book, which re-invigorated my thirst of puzzles.

A few years ago someone once told me to find a solution and then, prove your solution is the best on. I burned my brain a lot, trying to find a general way to evaluate solutions. I just cannot figure out a way to tell ‘This solution is optimum’. Maybe I need a better understanding of meta-mathematics to deal with it.

For the days to come, this book should keep me occupied. 🙂

I would like to share a puzzle here, in this post. This is the first puzzle on this book.

Other than north pole, where can you start, walk a mile south, a mile east and a mile north, and end up at the point you started?

One comment on “Puzzles

  1. […] Puzzles (via XenoArgento) Posted on February 12, 2011 by ellenjamesphd Solving puzzles is a delight. Recently I got a book on puzzles. The book is actually a collection of Scientific American's mathematical games column. Some very interesting puzzles there are. The book is 'My Best Mathematical and Logic Puzzles' by Martin Gardner. It's a new book, which re-invigorated my thirst of puzzles. A few years ago someone once told me to find a solution and then, prove your solution is the best on. I burned my brain a lot, … Read More […]

Leave a Reply

