A musical review…

I don’t really know my musical taste.

When I was a kid, I used to listen to Kabeer Suman and Anjaan Dutta a lot. I used to listen to them in cassettes. I used to listen to Enigma and Hariprasad Chaurasia, sometimes Amjad Ali Khan. I did try to get used to Indian Classicals, I didn’t have much like with that.

I used to frown at Rabindra Sangeet. I only listened to Backstreet Boys. I didn’t like Jimi Hendrix. And I was choosy with Pink Floyd. I craved at trance music. It was about 5 or 6 years ago, just when I started to get used to digital music.

My nephew got me a mix CD. I liked those. Before that I never did collected digital songs. I started to collect digital music. Thanks to my nephews I have a taste for music today.

When I got my first Mp3 player, I started to expand my taste. My childhood albums got a space in my Mp3 player as I obtained the digital versions of Enigma albums. But it lost the childhood charisma.

I started to collect English music. U2, Greenday, Staind, Poets of the Fall, Linkin Park, Bon Jovi, Radiohead, Coldplay etc. I never did like metal music. But that also started to change after I got to college. I got myself a few metal tracks from Metallica, Iron Maiden, Aerosmith, Motorheads. I like metal, maybe because of their amplified and bold nature. Linkin Park made a genre by itself. And Radiohead, they make out-of-the-world music. Also some Hindi Movie songs, caught my attention sometimes.

Few months ago, one day, I perked my ears as a Rabindra Sangeet was playing. My father likes them a lot, and plays them all day. But I never heard a Rabindra Sangeet so beautiful before. Then same happened with classical music.

Now, I am writing listening to Jimi Hendrix, and even if I don’t listen to classical or Rabindra all day, but I don’t frown at them as I did before, I feel comfy among them.

 

Leave a Reply

